Board of Directors

Our board of directors includes scientists working in all three scientific domains (as defined by the European Research Council): Life Sciences (LS), Physical Sciences and Engineering (PE), Social Sciences and Humanities (SH).

Antonio Guarino (President), Professor of Economics, University College London (SH)

Raffaella Ocone (Vice-President), Professor of Engineering & Physical Sciences, Heriot Watt University (PE)

Alessandro Allegra (Secretary), PhD Candidate at Department of Science and Technology Studies, University College London (SH)

Elisa Cavatorta (Treasurer), Assistant Professor in Political Economy, King's College London (SH)

Vittorio Badalassi, Royal Society Research Fellow, Imperial College London (PE)

Paola Bonfanti, Senior Researcher, Rosetrees Excellence Fellow, University College London (LS)

Cosimo Lacava, Research Fellow, University of Southampton (PE)

Lucio Piccirillo, Professor of Radioastronomy Technology, University of Manchester (PE)

Maria Grazia Spillantini, Professor of Molecular Neurology, University of Cambridge (LS)

Social media team


Social media coordination, Twitter, LinkedIn, website, mailing list:

Matteo M Galizzi, Assistant Professor of Behavioural Science, London School of Economics (SH)



Antonella Ianni, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Southampton (SH)


Dissemination and outreach posts:

Andrea Zampetti, Research Associate at London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London (PE)


Artistic events director:

Alberto Sanna, Musicologist and violinist, Liverpool Hope University (SH)

Research areas coordinators


Social sciences and humanities:

Riccardo Crescenzi, Professor of Economic Geography, London School of Economics (SH)

Claudia Cristalli, PhD Candidate at Department of Science and Technology Studies, University College London (SH)

Luigi Tamè, Postdoctoral Fellow at the Body Lab, Birkbeck College London (SH)


Life sciences:

Valentina Gallo, Lecturer in Epidemiology, Queen Mary University of London (LS)

Giulia de Falco, Lecturer in Biomedical Sciences, Queen Mary University of London (LS)


Physical sciences and engineering:

Carla Molteni, Professor of Physics, King's College London (PE)

Luca Viganò, Professor in Computer Science, King's College London (PE)

Andrea Zampetti, Research Associate at the London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London (PE)

Geographic areas coordinators



Eliana Lauretta, International Research Fellow at Birmingham Business School, University of Birmingham (SH)



Paolo D'Avino, Lecturer of Cellular and Molecular Pathology, University of Cambridge (LS)


East Anglia and South East

Filippo Prischi, Lecturer of Biology, University of Essex (LS)



Simone Turchetti, Lecturer in History of Science and Technology, University of Manchester (SH)


North East

Michele Fumagalli, Lecturer of Astrophysics, Durham University (PE)



Maria Garraffa, Assistant Professor of Psychology, Heriot-Watt University (SH)

Andrea Pisauro, Research Assistant at Centre for Cognitive Neuroimaging, University of Glasgow (SH)

Early career researchers and mentoring group

Chiara Bucciarelli-Ducci, Consultant Senior Lecturer, University of Bristol (LS)

Riccardo Crescenzi, Professor of Economic Geography, London School of Economics (SH)

Elisa Roccia, PhD student in Biomedical Engineering, King's College London (PE)

Honorary members

Roberto Di Lauro, Professor of Genetics, University of Naples, Scientific Attaché, London Italian Embassy (LS)

Emanuele Cotroneo, Founder of a former association of Italian Scientists